Blue Ray Movies


Its Christmas season and vacation time again , can’t wait to get to do the things I’ve put off for some time. After a year of work filled with tension and stress – now a few weeks of solace and hopefully, rest. This is vacation time, next year a ton of problem may arrive unbidden, but not yet! Not yet!

After the usual round of shopping, home decorating, gift wrapping, Christmas parties, performing filial duty of visiting with families, and doing our religious obligations, I got to have some quality personal time for the following:

1. Do some 5-S with my old things – we have been moving around a lot, and I have to sort, and dispose of some unwanted garbage from my files. This is an accumulation of more than 20 years of junk from my work, studies and what have you. My old books in calculus, concrete and steel design, surveying and others now accumulating with dust must go. Also my collection of  VHS, CD, DVD some which is already with molds – must also go. I have decided to hire a college student for the holidays to sort out this mess. Its not enough that I gave away 2 sacks of old CD’s last month – que horror, the cabinets is still overflowing!

I learned 5S many years ago at the plant where I worked as an Industrial Engineer,  and it is definitely applicable to our closet at home. “5S is the name of a workplace organization methodology that uses a list of five Japanese words which are seiri, seiton, seiso, seiketsu and shitsuke. The list describes how items are stored and how the new order is maintained.”(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5S)

2. Watch my collection of old classic (to me, of course) blue ray movies – This is my second priority, and I’ve been meaning to do it for sometime.

The home theater technology is growing very fast – that my old collection of CD’s is as they say in real estate business, already in  a state of economic, or functional obsolescence. Before, we use to line up at the rental store for Betamax, but now no more! The betamax was replaced by VHS, which was replaced by CD, which was replaced by DVD, and now by DVD -blue ray? Also, we can download from the internet directly to our external hard drive, and play directly to the LED TV via the USB port (without need for any DVD player, at all!). Still this is not all, I am excited with the coming of age of the cloud computing technology – goodbye personal computers, and perhaps, our personal privacy? (but that’s another blog…lol).

This Christmas holidays, I got to watch a rerun of my favorite personal classics (not in any particular order of preference) : The Gladiator (by Russell Crowe), Blade Runner (by a younger Harrison Ford), The Last Samurai (by a brooding Tom Cruize), Alexander, Red Cliff Part 1 and 2, Master and Commander (again Russell Crowe), Inception, X-men Trilogy, The Godfather Trilogy (especially the first and second one), The Underworld (got to see Kate Beckensale in tight tights again…lol), 300 (This is Sparta!), The Prince of Persia, The Forbidden Kingdom, Megamind, House, The Curious Case of Benjamen Button (Brad Pitt), Troy (2004) (starring Brad Pitt), documentaries, and many others.

Whew! Got to make the snacks ready, the favorite chair in place, the remotes, the sound system, the video… turn off the phone, mute the cellphone, and turn off the gate buzzer …

Again Merry Christmas, and Happy Holidays to you.

Leave a Reply

